Superbike World Championship

20 Май 2015 | Author: | Комментарии к записи Superbike World Championship отключены
Bimota SB8R Sport Bike

Superbike World Championship

World Championship (also as SBK . World Superbike . WSB . or WSBK ) is the Superbike racing Championship. The was founded in 1988. The Superbike Championship season consists of a of rounds held on permanent facilities. Each round has two and the results of each race are to determine two annual World one for riders and one for manufacturers .

The motorcycles race in the championship are tuned of motorcycles available for sale to the by contrast with MotoGP purpose built machines are MotoGP is the motorcycle world’s of Formula One. whereas racing is similar to touring car .

Europe is Superbike World traditional centre and leading [ 1 ] However, rounds have held in the United States. New Zealand. Canada. Japan. Russia. Qatar. and South and the series plans on keeping circuits in rotation. An Indonesian was also proposed for the 2008 but this was later canceled by the [ 2 ]

The championship is regulated by the FIM. the governing body of motorcycle and managed and promoted by FGSport. became part of the Infront in 2007 and in 2008 was rebranded as Motor Sports. [ 3 ] As of 2013 the is organised by Dorna. [ 4 ]


The Superbike World Championship in 1988. being open to versions of road bike available to the public. For many the formula allowed for machines 1,000cc V-twin engines Ducati. but later Aprilia and ) to go up against the 750cc four-cylinder (Honda. Yamaha. Kawasaki and ). For the first few seasons Honda won the RC30. but gradually the twins got the hand.

Using 1,000cc V-twin benefited Ducati and it was able to the championship for many years.

TT a racing class for motorcycles 1977 to 1989 as the official Cup under the umbrella of International Federation. Once the Superbike Championship proved popular and successful, it was decided to end the Formula TT at the end of the season.

From 1993 to Carl Fogarty and Ducati Fogarty won the title a record 4 and finished as runner-up twice on Ducatis. Troy Corser won the 1996 title and finished as in 1995, both times on a

Carl Fogarty has won the Superbike Championship a record 4 times Ducati

Realizing that V-twin engines suited the racing formula more, introduced its own V-Twin powered the VTR1000 SPW in 2000. The result was right away as Colin won the championship in the bike’s first of competition. Ducati regained the in 2001 with Troy

Colin Edwards again the title in 2002 on the same SPW bike.


Colin won his 2nd championship in what was arguably the impressive comeback in the history of racing. The season started Troy Bayliss winning the 6 races and by the end of race 1 at Mazda Laguna Seca he had 14 wins and was the championship by 58 points.

Race 2 at Raceway Laguna Seca was the of Colin Edwards ‘ he went on to win all 9 remaining races and by a race 2 crash for Bayliss at ) Edwards won the championship at the final of the season at Imola. The final of the season saw both riders wheel to wheel for the entire The race is known by fans as the at Imola.

Bimota SB8R Sport Bike

The manufacturer’s championship was won by Ducati. these years the Superbike Championship reached the zenith of its with global fan and full support. [ 5 ]


In 2003 the FIM the rules to allow 1,000cc (either twins, triples or to race. Rule changes in to allow four-… engines that the Japanese manufacturers their resources there, the Superbike World Championship limited factory involvement [ 6 ] Ducati and Suzuki).

2003 saw the entry of Carl Fogarty ’s Petronas FP1. The bike was under the previous regulations and was by a three cylinder 900cc With most of the field Ducati motorcycles, the championship the derogatory title the Ducati [ 5 ] [ 7 ] The factory Ducati Team the only 2 Ducati 999’s in the taking 20 wins from 24 in a season where all races won by Ducati.

Neil Hodgson won the title on a Ducati.


In an effort to a more competitive field in organizers announced a series of to the championship. The most significant was from 2004 the teams had to run on Pirelli control or ‘spec’ The decision to award the control to Pirelli was controversial.

The Pirelli were considered to be below the of Dunlop and Michelin that of the teams had been using. looked to take legal against the decision [ 8 ] while claimed that Michelin and were also asked if would be interested in the one-make rule contract. [ 9 ] Partly as a of the control tyres, Motorcycle Manufacturer Association (Aprilia, Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki and announced that no MSMA would participate in the Superbike Championship, later modifying statement allowing Ducati to [ 5 ] [ 7 ]

A few privateers chose to run Japanese in 2004. Ten Kate Honda Chris Vermuelen as its rider, won and actually contended for the title eventually was won by James Toseland and

Bimota SB8R Sport Bike
Bimota SB8R Sport Bike

Interesting articles

Other articles of the category "Bimota":

Our partners
Follow us
Contact us
Our contacts

Born in the USSR


About this site

For all questions about advertising, please contact listed on the site.

Motorcycles catalog with specifications, pictures, ratings, reviews and discusssions about Motorcycles.